Colombia, May 2014!!

Hey everyone!!

I have really exciting news for you (well, I don’t actually know if you will get excited about this, but I certainly am!)

Jamie and I are going to be going to Medellin, Colombia in May for a mission trip with FEB International. We will be there for 24 days altogether. While down there, we will be working with a group of churches called the El Redil churches. We will be involved in teaching English, leading Bible studies, running a children’s program, and potentially working in a home for disabled children or volunteering at a ministry for pregnant teenagers.

We are so excited for this opportunity to go down. I am particularly excited about this opportunity because I was down in Colombia in 2012 for six weeks through my program at my college. I can not wait to return and to reconnect with my friends and with those same churches.

With all this being said, I will be taking a short break from The Recipe Passport cooking while down there. I decided that I will just be taking the whole month of May off. We leave the 3rd and return on the 28th, so the few days before and after will probably be spent preparing for the trip and re-cooperating from the trip. So, now my ‘year’ of cooking will be extended until March 5, 2015 instead of February 2, 2015. (Yes I did the math. Feb. 2, 2014-Mar. 5, 2015= 396 days. Then 396-31 (days in May)=365 days!!)

I thought that I would let you all know about this so that come May you do not think that I dropped off the face of the planet. While down there, I will probably be writing updates to my friends and family, and I might even pop on here once of twice to say hi and update you on our adventures. And because this is a cooking/food blog, I was going to keep you updated on any interesting ethnic food that we experience while in Colombia. As I said in my “About” post (check that out here), last time in Colombia I had the WORST soup ever. It was called mondongo and is made from a cow’s stomach… enough said.

Sweet, thanks everyone! Let me know if you have any questions about this trip or if you have any suggestions of food to try while down there or anything that you want me to search out!

Oh hey! It’s me in Colombia in 2012!

Image  ImageImage  ImageImage  Image

Leave a Reply

