Bahrain: Tabbouleh

Untitled

 

DSC09940

As you might have seen in my last post on The Bahamas, for which I made Bahamian grilled fish (check that out here), I also made Tabbouleh from Bahrain to go with the fish. Here is a picture of that meal.

 

I had a hard time finding a meal to make for Bahrain. To find out what a country’s typical foods are, I usually search it out on Wikipedia. Most pages are very  helpful and list many foods from that country… but the page for Bahraini Cuisine was quite lacking. This page only listed about five (or less) typical meals from Bahrain. And each of the ones that I searched for, I could not find a recipe for. Thankfully Google search brought me to a recipe called tabbouleh. Technically, tabbouleh did not originate from Bahrain, but it is quite popular there. Tabbouleh is popular throughout many Arab countries including Iraq, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Turkey, and Palestine.

Tabbouleh is a salad which consists mainly of tomato, cucumber, parsley, and bulgur, which is “is a cereal food made from the groats of several different wheat species, most often from durum wheat” (thanks for defining that for me Wikipedia). I was able to find bulgur in the organic section of Zehrs.

I’m going to be very honest. Do not make this salad! Well, do not make this salad unless you can handle excessive amounts of parsley. This version of tabbouleh called for 2 cups of parsley for 4-6 servings. Basically this version puts parsley in as if it was lettuce. Actually, some countries version of tabbouleh uses lettuce instead of parsley. Both Jamie and I could only eat a few bites of this salad. We just couldn’t handle the amount of parsley in there. I suppose if you were going to try this salad, I would advise trying to find a version which uses lettuce instead of parsley.

DSC09936Tabbouleh

1/2 cup fine bulgur
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup boiling-hot water
2 cups finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley (from 3 bunches)
1/2 cup finely chopped fresh mint
2 medium tomatoes, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
1/2 seedless cucumber*, peeled, cored, and cut into 1/4-inch pieces
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Stir together bulgur and 1 tablespoon oil in a heatproof bowl. Pour boiling water over, then cover bowl tightly with plastic wrap and let stand 15 minutes. Drain in a sieve, pressing on bulgur to remove any excess liquid.

Transfer bulgur to a bowl and toss with remaining ingredients, including 2 tablespoons oil, until combined well.

Recipe courtesy of; http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Lebanese-Tabbouleh-106589

So yeah, I now have almost a full bag of bulgur leftover. Does anyone know any other recipes that use bulgur? That now makes 13 countries down, 182 more to go. Thanks for checking out my adventure cooking my way around the world.

 

5 thoughts on “Bahrain: Tabbouleh

    • Thanks for the advice. Since this fish wasn’t bad like I was expecting, I might have to try making it more often. I’m sure my husband wouldn’t mind that at all!

  1. thanks! Maybe I can suggest a recipe from Zimbabwe, Zambia and South Africa the three countries I live inbetween…
    South Africa: http://thegreatcreations.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/the-great-sticky-roast-chicken-bunny-chows-from-south-africa/
    Zimbabwe: This is what the locals eat, I found it growing behind my garders house.
    http://thegreatcreations.wordpress.com/2013/09/27/the-great-healthy-kale-solution/
    Zambia: our house cleaner Brenda makes a dish with tiny kapenta fish and inshima (stiff polenta porridge). Still to blog.

    • Wow, awesome. Thank you! I guess though, since I’m doing it in alphabetical order, it’ll be a long time before I get to those countries. But I’ll definitely keep this post in mind. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

