Armenia: Fasulye

Map_Armenia_1999

I have been falling behind on my postings. I’ve been keeping up okay with my cooking, but I continuously forget to post. Whoops 🙂

So, on February 20th (yes, almost a week ago) I made dinner for Jamie and I which originated from Armenia. While searching for what to make, I found out that a typical dish served in Armenia is dzhash. This is a watery stew consisting of a meat, vegetables, and spices. Since it was a common dish, I decided to make it. But, one thing that has been really difficult so far on this journey is finding recipes. I typed ‘dzhash’ into Google and got nothing; I couldn’t find a recipe for it 😦 . After more research and searching, I found a recipe for the main course meal called Fasulya which was described as a stew with green beans, lamb, and tomato broth. I found a recipe for it, but this recipe omitted the lamb, which I was quite okay with (refer to my Afghanistan post in which I made lamb kebabs here). The recipe I used is called ‘Taze Fasulye’ which literally means fresh beans. I just used canned beans. I really wish it was the summer. Jamie and I had a wonderful garden planted last summer. It was so fun to be able to tend to it and watch things grow, and of course, eat it all 🙂 ! We’re hoping to get a small garden going again this summer, but since we’re in an apartment, we’ll just have to settle for planter boxes. Hopefully in the future we will have a large property on which we can have a large garden. Here’s our garden from last summer.

DSC09110

We had tomatoes, peas, cucumbers, potatoes, beans, and corn.

(Also, I’m really excited right now because I just figured out how to have text beside a picture! Huzzah! Life’s small accomplishments!)

This dish was fairly good. Definitely not the best one yet (I’m not sure if anything will ever beat the Caribbean pepperpot stew I made for Antigua and Barbuda (check it out here). One piece of advice I would offer about this dish is to halve (or at least reduce) the amount of oil it calls for. The end product was very oily. That’s the main thing I didn’t like about it. The beans themselves were really tasty. Oh yeah, I made some plain rice to put the beans on top of. Yummy.

DSC09902

Fasulye

1 kg green beans (small fresh tender runner beans if at all possible)
250 ml extra virgin olive oil
3 medium sized chopped onions
2 large fresh peeled and flavourful tomatoes (alternatively one can of chopped tomatoes). Canned tomatoes are better than anaemic fresh ones!
2 teaspoons salt
3 teaspoons sugar
Water to cover the beans

Pour the olive oil into a large pan and warm. Fry the onions until they are soft and translucent.

Chop the tomatoes into small pieces and add them to the onions (or pour in the can of already chopped tomatoes).

Add the beans, salt and sugar. Mix well, and pour over enough water to cover the beans.

Bring to the boil, then turn down the heat. Cook the beans on a slow simmer for approx 1 hour until they are lovely and tender, and the sauce is well reduced. Try them for texture.

Recipe courtesy of: http://www.petersommer.com/turkey-travel-country/turkish-food-cuisine/taze-fasulye-green-beans/

Next stop on my cooking adventure is Australia. If you missed my last post on Argentina, check it out here. 8 countries down, 187 to go.

4 thoughts on “Armenia: Fasulye

  1. You and your tinned beans. Yugh. 🙂 I’m so impressed by your dedication to this blog though! It’s such a good idea, and everything looks so delicious! Good luck with the rest

Leave a Reply

