Angola: Arroz de Cabidela and Funje

1084px-Angola_in_Africa_(-mini_map_-rivers)

Hello food lovers.

First off, sorry to have taken so long in between posts. It’s been a busy week for me…. so busy that I was only able to make dishes from two countries this week. I know, I’m a failure 😦 And so busy that I only have gotten a chance to post now, at the very end of the week… But, this week is my reading week, so I will have plenty of time to get caught up on my international cooking. In fact, I was thinking about this coming week; I have quite the full homework schedule lined up for myself. One of my main ways of procrastinating it to go and eat, whether I am hungry or not (bad habit, I know). So, this week will be perfect. Anytime I want to procrastinate from my work, I can go and make an international dish! Perfect!

This week, I made food from Angola and Argentina. Yes, if you are following along alphabetically, you will notice that I did skip Antigua and Barbuda.. I did that because I was scheduled to cook food from Antigua and Barbuda on Tuesday, but on Tuesday, my school was having an international dinner which I wanted to cook something for (pretty convenient eh?) I thought that the recipe that I had picked out for Argentina was more suitable for this international dinner than what I had picked out for Antigua and Barbuda, so I changed the order, with the intention to cook from Antigua and Barbuda on Thursday or Friday. (As I explained though, things got busy, so I never got around to Antigua and Barbuda this week).

Now, as for Angola, it just so happened that on Monday, I met and was chatting with a lady who had had two girls from Angola live with her and her family for a few years. I was asking her if she knew of any Angolan recipes that she could share with me. She then told me about possibly the strangest thing I have ever made; funje. While I was looking up the cuisine of Angola, I read that funje (or funge) is a common dish that is usually consumed at every meal in Angola. Because of its commonality, I decided that I should make it, even though I wanted to avoid it.

Funje is porridge type food made from cassava flour (also called yuca or manioc). It is gelatinous in consistency and grey in colour. Essentially, it is sticky, grey goo (not the most appetizing looking thing). After I made it and before we tried it, Jamie commented that it looked like snot. Thanks Jamie, as if I wasn’t already a little wary about trying it. On it’s own, funje was very bland; tasteless even, and very sticky. It is normally eaten not on its own, but with something else; chicken, rice, beans… But after the snot comment, one bite was enough for me.

DSC09881DSC09879

Funje

50g Cassava Flour

(If you cannot find cassava flour, you can also use tapioca starch because apparently they are the same thing. I ended up using tapioca starch because I could not find cassava flour)

150ml Water

Preheat oven to 180°C. Boil 50mL of water.

Pour cassava flour or tapioca starch into a container and mix it with 100mL of cold water. Beat the mixture until it is smooth and creamy.

Add the mixture to the boiled water, whisking to combine (it become very sticky here). Keep beating until the mixture becomes smooth, yellowish and a little transparent.

Place the mixture into the preheated oven for 20 minutes until the mixture has thickened to a dough-like consistency.

Recipe courtesy of: http://wakeupandeatglobal.weebly.com/angolan-breakfast.html

I decided that I should probably make something else Angolan to go along with the funje. So I made arroz de cabidela (essentially just rice and chicken). The recipe that I used called this dish that, but when I was looking up Angolan cuisine, it said that cabadela was usually a dish cooked in blood and then served with rice and funje. This dish was not cooked in blood though. So this dish might be more similar to arroz da Ilha which is a rice and chicken dish.

This dish was very tasty, and fairly basic to make too. The roasted red peppers gave it a good flavour.  I made it on Tuesday, and we still have leftovers in the fridge. It made a LOT of food. Actually, we have lots of leftovers in our fridge. I have nicknamed it “the international smorgasbord”.

DSC09887

Arroz de Cabidela (or Arroz de Llha)

1 lb long -grain rice
2 lbs chicken pieces
4 Tomatoes
3 roasted red peppers, from a jar, chopped
(I couldn’t find a jar of roasted red peppers, so I just had to roast my own.)
2 medium onions, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
6 cups beef broth
1 cup white wine
2 bay leaves
2 cloves
7 tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper

Rinse the chicken and pat it dry. Heat half of the oil in deep skillet and add the chicken, brown on both sides, about 8 minutes per side.

Add salt, pepper, the cloves and the bay leaves. Add the wine, cover and to cook over low heat until chicken is tender, about 35 minutes. (If the chicken begins to dry, add just a little bit of water).

Heat the remaining oil in separate oven-proof saucepan, fry the onion and garlic for 5 minutes on low heat. Add one of the peppers and the tomatoes, and to continue frying 10 minutes more. Incorporate the chicken and the broth, and when it begins to boil, to add the rice.

Cook ton high heat, uncovered, until rice is about half-way cooked, about 10 minutes approximately. Meanwhile, heat the oven to 350 degrees. Place the chicken, loosely covered, so that it finishes cooking approximately for 10 minutes.

Garnish with remaining peppers and serve hot.

Well there you have it everyone, another country down, only 190 to go. In case you missed my last post on Andorra, check it out here.

One thought on “Angola: Arroz de Cabidela and Funje

  1. I am very glad that the arroz de cabidela does not get cooked in blood!! Your Argentinian pizza was quite a hit at the International Dinner!!

Leave a Reply

