Preheating

Hi there. Welcome to my blog. This blog is my way of documenting a goal/challenge that I have taken upon myself.

Within the next year, I am going to make a common meal/dish from every country in the world. Yes, you heard me; 195 countries in 365 days. That averages out to 3 or 4 countries a week.

Let me give you some background on myself.

Hearing this challenge that I have accepted, you might assume that I love cooking and that I have always loved cooking. You would only be half right though. I do currently love cooking, but I have not always loved it. Actually, I only learned to cook about 2 and a bit years ago when I first moved to college. Before this, I could make Kraft Dinner and boil potatoes, that was about it. It’s not that my Mom never tried to teach me how to cook, trust me, she definitely tried, but I was just stubborn in thinking that all I needed was Kraft Dinner. When I moved to college, a terrible realization rocked my world… I no longer liked Kraft Dinner. What was I now supposed to make myself to eat? For my first semester, I remained stubborn and I mostly just ate in the school cafeteria, but after time, the lack of selection in our cafeteria annoyed me. It was this and a not so subtle Christmas gift from my parents (a basic cookbook for teenagers) that pushed me to learn how to cook. I had a rocky start as my roommates can attest to. But eventually, things started to look and taste better. I was on my way.

Fast forward two years and here we are. I would now say that I love cooking. I love to try new recipes and taste new things. But I was in need of a new hobby, so here we are.

Why am I doing this you may ask… I have a few reasons.

  • As a child, I was a picky eater (sorry in hindsight, Mom!). I would be so resistant to any new foods, even if they just looked weird or had a weird name. I would judge foods before even trying them.
  • I need to expand my horizons. Being a picky child, I would often eat the same foods. When I was a child, I called myself the ‘caesar salad connoisseur’. Caesar salad was my staple food. I would order it at every restaurant. (This next story is a shameful part of my past) I went on a cruise in Grade 8 and all I ate every meal was caesar salad. Looking back on that now, it is clear that I have missed out on so much, and therefore need to expand my horizons.
  • I love traveling!! If I was wealthy, I would travel everywhere and anywhere. Unfortunately though, I am not. I am a college student…. Enough said. I love experiencing new cultures and new foods. Since I can not currently afford to travel around, I will have to experience the cultural foods in my own kitchen.
  • I needed a new challenge in my life, and something to do to procrastinate from homework. πŸ™‚

I figured that if I was going to do this, I should document it online. You people (once I get followers… once I hopefully get followers) can act as an accountability to me. I really do not like starting something and not finishing it, so if I start slacking, give me heck about it.. okay?

Well, this is my introductory post to the newest stretch in my culinary journey. I will be starting tomorrow (Sunday)… well technically it is Sunday right now since it’s 2:26am as I am writing this.Β I am going to be going through the countries alphabetically to ensure that I do not miss any. This week I will be tackling Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, and Andorra. Once I make each dish, I will be posting my review of it as well as the recipe that I used. That way, if you want to, you can try out these dishes too.

I am really looking forward to this. To trying new foods. To experiencing small parts of every country. To sharing my journey with you. I hope that you will join me on this journey as I cook my way around the world.

-Amy

10 thoughts on “Preheating

  1. Good job wonder twin! I’m happy to see you moving on to bigger and better things like knowing how to boil water, and trying fish! YOU CAN DO IT!

    • Absolutely! I’m looking forward to that country too. I’m definitely going to have to make some delicious desserts. Unfortunately, it looks like I won’t be getting to Switzerland until the middle of December. So long to wait 😦

Leave a Reply

